Writing Update: The Selective Mute Princess

So as you can see from the title I have a little update on The Selective Mute Princess which is my novel which I am trying to get published but I am still in the writing and rewriting stages of this. I did a mid-year goal check at the beginning of July and I have a goal of finishing the editing process of The Selective Mute Princess and I’ve been doing it on and off for about a year. I have edited 20 chapters of 55 but my problem is that I have a lot more words and I know by the time that I finished the entire novel it would be at 150k words and that is too much. I knew there was a lot of fillers in there that didn’t need to be in there and I didn’t find myself in a position that I could cut what needed to be cut.

So I did something crazy.

I could possibly regret this.

I hope not.

I have decided to get rid of the 2/3 drafts that have already been written of The Selective Mute Princess and start again. So for the first time in ever I have begun to outline the story, I looked at my other drafts and pulled out the main points of the story what I wanted. Also, I realised I had a lot of plot holes in the other drafts, for example, the kidnappers of my story were never caught which was a major plot hole that I needed to fix. In doing this, in starting again, I’m hoping it will give me a better chance and not doing so many filler chapters, not having plot holes and flaws to my story as a whole.

I don’t expect this re-write to solve everything that is wrong with my story, I have a lot of work to do but I know that I need to start the actual words again. Change some things, I will keep my other two drafts that have already been written just for me and the progress that I’ve done but I want to restart it fresh. I wrote it 5 years ago and it was uploaded in parts on wattpad so there was a lot of mistakes so hopefully, this can fix that.

So what I have done so far.

  • Wrote my main characters list and given some crucial details.

You probably think I should have done that already, but no, in one of my many drafts the mother had 6 different names and Amelia had 4 different middle names. So hopefully nothing will go wrong with the name issue this time.

  • Worked out the kidnapping plot story

As I said before I hadn’t actually said who the kidnappers were and I never said what their motive was for kidnapping the girls. So that will be fixed because I have written a backstory for the kidnappers and reasoning behind that, so there will be no mistakes now lol hopefully.

  • Ethan and Amelia’s relationship

Ethan and Amelia’s relationship I have given it a little revamp, obviously, I can’t really explain much about it because then spoilers.

  • Location.

It was set in England. But now I created my own island! I don’t know whether this was a good idea or not but the problem with using England I wanted my own world with my own rules which is why, I created my own island, I don’t feel like revealing the name yet but it’s in Spanish!

So that’s all for this little writing update, I may start doing these more frequently I like doing a mini update.

One thought on “Writing Update: The Selective Mute Princess

  1. Pingback: Writing update 2: The Selective Mute Princess | ABookHaven

Leave a Reply

