Coral and Bone – Tiffany Daune

CORAL AND BONEHalen knows the sparks igniting under her fingertips are dangerous. She has spent her entire life trying to quell the tingly feelings that make her destroy things, but now that she is back in Rockaway Beach, where she watched her father drown, the flames have become impossible to tame.

Halen is trying to hold on, but when she is thrust into a mysterious new world, the underwater realm of Elosia, she unravels the secrets of her past and can’t help but ignite. As she explores Elosia, she realizes her life has been a lie. And when those who have deceived her come to her for help, Halen must choose—walk away or unleash the magick that could destroy them all.

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release: 9th May

Buy Link: Book Depository

I would like to thank OfTomes for sending me an E-ARC it is very much appreciated. So this is a book that came from wattpad and I am very familiar with wattpad, I am on it myself and I do say I’m glad I didn’t read it when it was on wattpad (I usually end up hating the published versions.)

One of the many things I loved about this book was that when Halen is entered into this world she actually freaks out like it’s a major freak out not one of those little pathetic ones where you get over it in a few chapters. This was a big positive for me in this book and that we could see a lasting effect on not being told about this other world. We see Halen begin to question who she can and can’t trust and in some books, we don’t see it, so I am really glad that we did see the ripple of this effect in the book!

The secondary characters were some of my favourites and the fact that at times they were used for comic relief was even better, I fell in love with all of these characters. Especially Halan and Tage. I really liked the relationship that developed between Halan and Tage and the fact that they were willing to do what it took especially Tage and although at the beginning they didn’t really like each other, it was nice to it grow into a bond where they actually both relied on each other a lot.

I loved the guardian aspect of this book it wasn’t something that I was expecting, and usually, we see guardian’s in things like witches or fae or wolves and vampires it was very nice to see it placed somewhere different. I also loved what the guardian’s actually meant for the people who had them. The concept or mermaids being evil is something I love and isn’t explored that often this novel also included sirens into it, and I loved the fact that instead of sirens being totally evil they weren’t (at least not all of them).

Halan’s love interest is, of course, Dax and he was a very interesting character after Halan discovers that she had a twin sister Natalie who was killed. Dax was very close with Natalie and we see how much her darkness affects Dax and how he projects that worry onto Natalie not wanting her to follow the same route as her twin. Dax is very strong and his relationship with Natalie was completely different than with Halan and he was working hard on making sure that she didn’t follow the same route. Natalie felt like the catalyst for everything that happened in Halan’s life when the novel started. =

This story is brilliant and gripping I couldn’t put the book down I read it in one sitting and I was addicted I just kept turning and turning the page and before I knew it, the story was over and that made me incredibly sad. I need more. I need the next book! Because of that ending, wow! This book just gave me the feels and I really want the next one! I would go into more detail but I don’t want this to be spoiler-y but I loved some of the moments in this book. I rated this 5/5 stars on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

